Food Glorious Food

April 6, 2010

I stumbled across Jamie Oliver’s new show Food Revolution while browsing Hulu while bored one day at work home and instantly became hooked.  I remember my own school lunch being french fries or a huge soft pretzel and a soda.  I always chose to go through the ala carte line instead of the “real food” line. I honestly couldn’t even tell you what kind of food the other line even offered and whether it was healthy or not.  I checked my old school website today to view the “real food” line lunch choices.  There were 7 options: 1) Corn Dog 2) Hamburger on bun 3) Cheeseburger on bun 4) Chicken patty on bun 5) Pizza 6) Italian sub 7) Chef salad.  Fruit and fries were the side dish options.

I don’t blame the schools as much as the show seems to, I take full responsibility for making poor food choices.  Though perhaps limited, healthier options were available to me, I just never chose them.  Still though, I like the idea of bringing awareness to what we are eating and the impact it is having. In recent years I have made an effort to cook more from scratch, but I still struggle with good vs. bad choices daily.  I definitely do agree though that if we can educate kids both at home and/or school to make the better choices, a food revolution WILL come.

Until then I’ll be sitting on my butt eating fries….just kidding.  Sort of.

One Response to “Food Glorious Food”

  1. I haven’t seen that show yet, but have heard many things about it. I should check it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

