The Road to 30 – Update

December 17, 2008


I am now less than 6 months away from my 30th birthday. The question “what have you been doing all your life??” gets louder each day. As the cliché goes, it’s not that I have regrets about what I have done, I have regrets I haven’t done more.

I think back to my thoughts about 30 in younger years. At 15 it was double my age and being “grown up” seemed so far away. I had visions of careers and relationships, pets and kids. Now that I’m here, my significant accomplishments thus far have been seeking and subconsciously mapping power outlet locations in a variety of U.S. and International airports for and managing to feed myself without burning down my kitchen. Daily survival wasn’t exactly the utopia I dreamt of.

Before my birthday, I plan on knocking a few more things off my life to do list. I’m going snowboarding for the first time. I will explore another (to be determined) country. I imagine I will knock a few other things off before then without plans or goals, just by living life. If I’ve learned anything in my 3 decades, it’s the most important thing is to have experiences. The good, the bad and the in between.

Doubling my age now would bring me to 60. Dreaming of careers and relationships, pets and kids for then seems exhausting. Daily survival just may be the way to go at that age.

Until then you can find me on the slopes, in an airport or in my kitchen wielding a fire extinguisher wondering how I set yet another toaster oven on fire.

Maybe daily survival is utopia after all.

Leave a Reply

