The Inexplicable

December 20, 2008

I have never understood the chemistry of humanity. I am constantly perplexed by the ever changing character I seem to play in this world. In some people’s stories I’m the heroine, in others, I’m the villain.  My core self is the same, so what is it that accounts for the difference?

Chemistry. That inexplicable broad term for the complexity of other people.

Personalities are like Legos. The pieces either snap together to make a relationship that is tight and stable, or they hang on by just an end and the littlest movement can ruin the whole thing.

The edges of our personalities are all so unique, it’s amazes me when I find someone I connect with. When it happens, I try to remember it’s a rarity and embrace it. I have seen all too often what happens when you take your “fit” for granted. I have also seen what happens when you try to hang on to something that doesn’t fit.

I think I have spent too much time in my life taking chemistry mismatch personally. When someone dislikes me I internalize it and think something must be wrong with me. In some cases, yes, I’ve strayed from my core self and have done or said things worthy of the villainess title, but in most cases, the Legos just were not in accord and it’s no fault of anyone.

Who knew an artist like me could learn to embrace science?

Leave a Reply

