My Tribe

March 2, 2009

I came across a blog recently whose headline was something like “Everyone needs a tribe”. The word “tribe” stuck in my head.

I lead a very solitary existence in NYC. My social interactions are limited to a scant few co-workers I know enough to catch a quick drink with after work, but that is the extent of it.  Limited by circumstance, social anxiety and a fiercely independent and distrusting nature, the friendship building process is excruciating and slow for me.  My inherent wandering nature doesn’t help either.

My own tribe is scattered across the globe. Convenient for always having a couch to crash on during my frequent travels, but not so convenient when you need help flipping your mattress or feel like cooking for more than just yourself. These are people I’ve known since college or before. People who have seen me through a variety of versions of self. The good versions and the ones in desperate need of an update.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my tribe.  They have wandered with me, they have taken me in at 3am when I’ve showed up on their doorstep with my pillow, they have loved me when I didn’t love myself.

I just sometimes wish that getting a hug didn’t involve airports and frequent flyer miles.

Leave a Reply

