Cinematic Perfectionism

March 16, 2009

I’ve been making my way through the classic movies of the 1980s recently. My weekends lately have been a marathon of Top Gun, 16 Candles, Pretty in Pink, Say Anything and of course, The Breakfast Club. I am amazed at how timeless they all seem. Thankfully, the antics of youth and dramatic brushes with love seem to transcend the era of tight rolled jeans and blue eyeshadow.

I can’t remember the last time I went to see a movie in the theatre. I don’t have the stamina for the emotional manipulation and heart attack inducing effects of most 21st century movies. Present day movies strive for a level of perfection that turns me off. Every scene is over edited, every character controlled and flawless. The movies of the 80s have a raw, pureness to them that I can appreciate. The focus back then seemed to be more on the characters and their story and less about making the audience uncomfortable by the exploitation of shock value.

Society’s ongoing inclination to accept nothing less than perfect pains me. We airbrush out wrinkles, freckles and frizz. We squeeze ourselves into Spanx to achieve that “perfect” hourglass shape. We augment, wax, whiten, tan and tweeze to achieve a singular look that is visually pleasing to others. The notion of plurality clearly lost amongst the shelves of Sephora.

Sometimes I long for the days of untucked flannel shirts and ripped jeans. The blue eyeshadow I could certainly do without though.

One Response to “Cinematic Perfectionism”

  1. Magnificent message and beautifully said. Barry and I tend to movie-marathon at home, late at night. We lean strongly toward the Scorsese and Woody Allen kinds of films… !!

Leave a Reply

