If I had a Genie in a Bottle.

April 8, 2009

More than anything I wish I could be fearless.

As the cliche goes, as you get older you start to regret not what you’ve done, but what you haven’t done. I definitely look back in amazement at all the things I’ve done in spite of my proclivity to fear, but also know there is so much more I could have done if I wasn’t battling myself every step of the way.The older I get, the more fearful I become. The more I see, the more I fear. I refuse to let the fear close my eyes to the world, but some days are harder than others to keep them open.

If I was more fearless, I know I would have loved more, experienced more, just lived more. I also probably would have gotten myself in more trouble, but sometimes a little trouble is good for the soul.

I think it’s not so much that I regret what I didn’t do, as it is I regret that I had the feeling I couldn’t do it.

One Response to “If I had a Genie in a Bottle.”

  1. I think we all feel that way. The older I get, the more likely I am to do things. I don’t beat myself up as much as I used to. And I am more apt to tell the voice in my head to shut up.

Leave a Reply

