4/20/1999

April 20, 2009

I didn’t grow up having to worry about my safety while I was in school. If I should have, I somehow managed to survive my ignorance.

There were no metal detectors or visible police presence in my hallways. There were occasional locker checks, but the worst the drug sniffing dog ever came up with was some weed. The most trouble anyone caused was the occasional pulling of the fire alarm, but nobody ever died from that.

It is in these moments when I start to feel my age creeping up on me. The anniversary of today, a reminder that I existed in a different time. The worries of the 90s, nothing compared to the worries of now and beyond.
My beloved phrase “endless possibilities” has a very ugly side.

I wish I could remain blissfully ignorant just a little longer.

Leave a Reply

