The Single Life: Getting to know someone takes CONVERSATION

May 15, 2009

In my lifetime of singledom, I have met men in a variety of places. On the train, at work, through friends, even at bars. The older I get, the more slim the pickings seem to be, and that is most evident in the meat market called “The Internet”.

I have dipped my toes in the online dating pool and have come to realize that there are a number of things I do not understand about men and dating. There are profiles with bullet point lists of qualifications that a Yale educated supermodel wouldn’t meet, there are profiles with elaborate descriptions of intimate acts I’ve never even heard of, and my personal favorite, profiles that say nothing except “contact me”. And don’t even get me started on the pictures. Am I to find photos of men carousing with a variety of scantily clad women while fondling a beer bottle enticing? Is a faceless photo of a minute male body part supposed to make me swoon? Do these men really get responses? I can’t help but channel Dr. Phil and ask “How’s that workin’ for ya?”

I can’t help but wonder if conversation over coffee is a lofty expectation in this sea of men who think the foreplay is over after the barrista takes your order.

Leave a Reply

