Old Chatty Coffee Men

June 14, 2009

For those of you who don’t know me in real life, I have a bit of a reputation for being….shall we say less than pleasant before I’ve had my morning coffee. At work, people have been known to cancel meetings with me if the coffee maker is broken. Most people know not to try to engage me in conversation before noon.

There is one exception to this rule. No matter what time of the morning I go to Starbucks on Sundays, I ALWAYS seem to end up in line next to an chipper, chatty old man who wants to engage me in coffee nostalgia. “When I was young, we didn’t have all these highfalutin choices!” “What’s wrong with just a plain ole cup of joe” “What do we need all these fancy high tech machinery just for makin’ coffee”.  It takes everything I have to just smile and nod.

Until I hear the barrista take his order: “A skinny vanilla latte, no foam extra hot”.

Regular cup of Joe indeed.

Leave a Reply

