What I’m Making v5

August 23, 2009

Kindra from Meal Planning 101 recently asked me to share my orange chicken recipe and, as this is one of my FAVORITE things to make, I was more than happy to oblige! (Definitely check out her link….she has one of the best food /meal plan blogs out there in my opinion! Real food for real people and budgets and minimal packaged/preservatives. Definitely my kind of cooking!)

Orange Chicken

Chicken;

2 chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces

3 tablespoons cornstarch

salt & pepper to taste

olive oil

Sauce:

1 1/2 cup water

2 tablespoons orange juice

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/3 cup rice vinegar

2 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon grated orange zest

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon minced fresh ginger root

1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

2 tablespoons chopped green onion

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

cornstarch to thicken if desired

*I like a LOT of extra sauce so this makes quite a bit. You may need to play with the proportions/add more chicken for your own taste.

*I use fresh orange and lemon juice. It really adds to the fresh flavor I think.

– Throw chicken pieces, cornstarch, salt and pepper into a large ziplock bag and shake, shake, shake until coated.

– Heat a few tablespoons of oil in a deep skillet over medium heat and cook chicken until done.

– Remove chicken from skillet and wipe out (or use saucepan if your skillet isn’t deep enough). Add ingredients for sauce except for the cornstarch and bring to a slight boil. Add cornstarch to thicken if you like a thicker sauce (I always do this…it makes it feel more decadent and restaurant-like to me). Add chicken pieces into sauce and heat through, about 5 minutes.

– Serve over rice and garnish with green onion if desired.

One Response to “What I’m Making v5”

  1. Zom said

    Oh Yummy! I found you through Meal Planning 101 & I must say your contribution looks great. Have a sweet week!

Leave a Reply

